Too Many Tortillas Taquitos

So I placed a Costco delivery order and I realized I needed to buy some tortillas for the week. We don’t usually get these from Costco, so I knew it was a risk, but I found a 2×15 pack of flour tortillas and thought, “go big or go home!” I mean, we usually get packs of 20, so how different would 30 be?

Well, the difference wasn’t only in the number, but also the size! These tortillas were the full burrito size, not the smaller fajita size we typically get. I figured I’d better use some up quick, before they get stale, since we wouldn’t go through them as fast as usual.

I had about half a rotisserie chicken left from last night’s dinner, so I googled and found this great Baked Chicken Taquitos recipe from bellyful.net. Below is my version, just slightly modified. The kids really enjoyed these – and we hope you do to!

Too Many Tortillas Taquitos

Ingredients

  • 1 block cream cheese, well softened
  • 1/4 cup medium red salsa (I used Fresh Thyme salsa)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (about half a medium sized lime)
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder (I used Penzey’s medium hot)
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 3-4 tablespoons fresh chopped cilantro
  • about 4 cups cooked chicken, diced small (I used about half a Costco rotisserie chicken)
  • 2 cups shredded cheese – whatever mix of Mexican shredded, colby jack, mild cheddar you like
  • 12-13 burrito size flour tortillas
  • cooking spray
  • kosher salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a large rimmed baking sheet or half sheet cake pan with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the cream cheese, salsa, lime juice, cumin, chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, and cilantro until well combined.
  3. Add chicken and shredded cheese to cream cheese mixture; fold to combine well.
  4. Spoon a little less than 1/4 cup filling onto the lower third of a tortilla. Pat filling into a narrow log, and then tightly roll the tortilla.
  5. Place rolled tortilla, seam side down, on the baking sheet. Repeat with additional tortillas until filling is used up. Make sure the tortillas are NOT touching each other on the baking sheet.
  6. Spray the rolled tortillas lightly – but evenly and thoroughly – with cooking spray. Sprinkle lightly with kosher salt – this is key, and made a big difference.
  7. Bake for about 18-20 minutes until crisp and slightly browned on the edges.
  8. Enjoy with sour cream, additional salsa, and/or guac!

Leave a comment